Skip to main content

Dayton Canaday Collection

 Unprocessed — translation missing: en.enumerations.container_type.container: MD 114
Identifier: H2010-053

Content Description

The collection consists of a caricature drawing of South Dakota State Historical Society staff from 1987 to commemorate the retirement of Dayton Canaday as Director of the State Historical Society. The drawings were done by Sarah Ackermann, exhibits curator and include the following individuals and their titles: (front row, left to right) John Borst-manuscript curator, Alice Lentz-administrative aide/ membership coordinator, David B. Hartley-museum director/ Bonnie Gardner-librarian associate (photographs/newspapers), Laura Glum-manuscript curator (census/genealogy), Nancy Tystad Koupal, editor, South Dakota History; (back row, left to right) Dayton W. Canaday, state historian and director, Historical Research Center/ Ila Wiedemer, museum assistant/ Mary Wegner, secretary/ Sarah Ackermann, exhibits curator/ James Osberg, collections curator/ Jeanne Kilen Ode, editorial assistant, South Dakota History. A photocopy of the drawing, signed by the staff, is also included. Also included in the collection is a Governor’s Proclamation from 1987 by Governor George S. Mickelson proclaiming June 24, 1987 as Dayton Canaday Day.

Restrictions Apply



  • 1987


0.1 Cubic Feet