Skip to main content

50th Anniversary of Statehood Envelope/Stamp, 1939

 Unprocessed Material — Box: 09036 A
Identifier: H2019-025

Content Description

The collection consists of one envelope and a commemorative postage stamp celebrating the 50th Anniversary of statehood in 1889 for South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana and Washington. The three-cent postage stamp was created in 1939. Both the stamp and envelope feature a map of the four states which gained statehood in 1889. The postmark is dated November 2, 1939 from Pierre (S.D.). The reverse of the envelope names the Haddon Heights Stamp Club (Haddon Heights, N.J.). The envelope was addressed to Mr. J. D. McCourt of Haddon Heights (N.J.). The stamp was one of nine stamps in which United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt drew the design. The stamp shows the United States-Canadian border curve at the top of the stamp. Roosevelt correctly sketched the design showing that curve. The design made the states resemble laundry hanging on a wash line, leading to the stamp’s nickname of the “clothesline stamp.” Franklin D. Roosevelt was an avid stamp collector. While President, he took a very active hand in the development and design of U.S. stamps.

Acquisition Type


Restrictions Apply



  • November 1939


0.1 Cubic Feet