Skip to main content

Weed and Pest Control Commission, 1989 - 2004



  • 1989 - 2004


2 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials


Related Materials

See "Department of Agriculture -- Division of Regulations and Inspection" for more Weed & Pest Control Commission records prior to 1988.


The State Weed and Pest Control Commission formulates and conducts a weed and pest program aimed at the prevention, suppression, control, and eradication of dangerous or noxious weeds. It is administered under the Department of Agriculture, though the commission retains quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory, nonadministrative and special budgetary functions.

The commission consists of the following members:

Secretary of Agriculture or his designee; Dean of the College of Agriculture and Biological Sciences of SDSU or his designee; Secretary of Transportation or his designee; Secretary of Game, Fish and Parks or his designee; Commissioner of School and Public Lands or his designee; Member of the State Association of County Commissions; President of the South Dakota County Association of Weed and Pest Boards or his designee; and Six members appointed by the Governor.

Governor's appointees shall be selected from a list of nominees presented by the State Association of County Weed and Pest Boards from districts. They serve a three year term.

Repository Details

Part of the South Dakota State Archives Repository

900 Governors Dr
Pierre South Dakota 57501 USA
605-773-6041 (Fax)