Skip to main content

Fifth District, 1967 - 1983


Scope and Contents

From the Record Group: This record group contains records created and mantained by the Fifth District of the Inter-County Planning and Development Commission. Records include population statistics, maps, zoning ordinances, regulations, correspondence, publications, minutes, grants and studies.


  • 1967 - 1983

Administrative History

The Fifth District Planning and Development Commission was formed in 1974 and included the counties of Corson, Dewey, Haakon, Hughes, Hyde, Lyman, Mellette, Jones, Stanley, Potter, Walworth, and Ziebach working together to improve roads, water supply, sanitation, recreation, to conserve natural resources, and to improve economic conditions within the region. The Fifth District was the last in the state to organize and the first to disband in 1984. The records for Mellette County were retained by the County.


7.75 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials

From the Record Group: English

Repository Details

Part of the South Dakota State Archives Repository

900 Governors Dr
Pierre South Dakota 57501 USA
605-773-6041 (Fax)