Skip to main content

Transportation Commission, 1971 - 2013


Scope and Contents

From the Record Group: This record group contains records created and maintained by the South Dakota Department of Transportation and includes highway and bridge construction plans, photographs, and films; aerial photographs; bridge inspection reports; engineers' correspondence; project feasibility studies; railroad deeds, maps, appraisal records, and construction and maintenance files; railroad abandonment hearing files; state rail plan records and publications; Milwaukee Road bankruptcy and reorganization files; public hearing audio records; and commission meeting minutes and annual reports.


  • 1971 - 2013

Administrative History

The nine-member Transportation Commission meets monthly to discuss issues relating to the Department of Transportation, review and approve the five-year Transportation Improvement Plan, award projects let to bid, and numerous other activities that govern the Department of Transporation. The nine members are appointed to four-year terms by the governor and each represents one of the four Regions of the state (Aberdeen, Mitchell, Pierre, and Rapid City).


9 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials

From the Record Group: English

Repository Details

Part of the South Dakota State Archives Repository

900 Governors Dr
Pierre South Dakota 57501 USA
605-773-6041 (Fax)